Ask, and You Will Receive

footprints

I’ll start by giving you something to do: Read Matthew 7:7-12.
Now, I’ve always had this little niggling fear about those verses. I’ve been afraid that I might once pray for something, and never have my prayer answered. But the minister of my home church explained this in a recent sermon…

Today I am guest posting on Danella’s blog, Footprints in the Sand. Click here to read the rest of the post 🙂

Did you watch Ken Ham debating Dr Bill Nye yesterday? You can still watch the debate at debatelive.org. And this afternoon at 2 NZT, Ken Ham and Dr Georgia Purdom will be discussing the debate. (You can see it here.)

One more thing – today it is 174 years since the Treaty of Waitangi was signed! There is a lot of controversy about the signing, translation and meaning of the Treaty. I have read, and can recommend, The Great Divide, by Ian Wishart. I don’t agree with absolutely everything he says, but definitely good reading on the topic of early New Zealand History.

In Christ,
Rhoda

15 thoughts on “Ask, and You Will Receive

  1. Just letting you know that the link doesn’t seem to work… Today is my parent’s Wedding Anniversay, too! Your guest post is just what I needed today. 🙂 Keep it up!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Grace Alone… » Blog Archive Thankful Thursday ~ His Word » Grace Alone...

  3. Hi Rhoda,

    I read this blog post awhile ago, and I wanted to say it was encouraging to me! Thanks for sharing it. I also watched the Ken Ham debate live! Really neat, I wish there were more debates and such to watch live (or even better, attend in person) 🙂

    How have you been? have any prayer requests?
    I’m super busy with school, but I wanted to drop by and say hello. 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you for your sweet comment, Rebekah – you’re so thoughful!
      We actually ended up watching the debate half an hour behind 🙂 But yes, it was edifying.

      I’ve actually been super happy in the last two weeks! I don’t know why – it is something to do with growing in the grace and knowledge of God, anyway.:-) I’ve also just started tertiary studies by correspondence/online.
      Could you pray for our church? We are looking for a minister to call, as our dear pastor is planning to retire this year. 😦
      Do you have any prayer requests?
      Thank you again, Becky. You’ve made me even happier 🙂
      Love, Rhoda xx

      Like

      • Hi Rhoda,

        It was refreshing to my spirit to hear about your happiness in the past two weeks- it almost feels like a bit of that happiness transfers across the internet 🙂 I’m also learning to go along and rest in God’s hand instead of fretting.

        What kind of studies are you doing?

        I will pray for your church. Please keep me also in your prayers as I have a quiz tomorrow and two important exams coming up in the next two weeks (Mondays).
        Love in Christ,
        Becky

        Like

        • Glad to hear it, Becky!
          I’m doing a tertiary study skills course for 17 weeks. Then I can start following my dreams with a Library Studies Diploma. 🙂
          Thank you! Praying for you also.
          Love, Rhoda

          Like

Leave a reply...

