Hiding God’s Word in Your Heart

Black BibleA verse in Psalm 37 caught my eye as I was looking through my Bible to see what riches God had for me that day. That verse stuck in my head, and I decided to memorize the psalm.
Slowly, a verse or two a day, this psalm is becoming written on my heart, as in Psalm 119 verse 11:
“Your word I have treasured in my heart, that I may not sin against You.”
Having these verses in my memory has helped me greatly. I find it extremely comforting to be able to hear God’s Word without having my Bible with me. I can encourage myself, any time I need to! For example, at the dentist…
I can challenge myself to delight in the Lord, trust in Him, and commit my way to Him. And I can rest in the knowledge that He will return to judge the wicked.
I would like to encourage you to join me in this endeavor. Do not be afraid that you will fail, for the Lord will help you, as it is He who commands us in Deuteronomy 6 verse 6:
“These words which I am commanding you today, shall be on your heart.”
Surely He will give you grace in continuing to serve Him in this way!

6 thoughts on “Hiding God’s Word in Your Heart

  1. it is comforting to know Gods word without your bible! there is a lot in that verse “your word is treasured in my heart so that I may not sin against you” the whole of beth in psalm 119 has this theme

    Like

  2. Pingback: What do You Desire? | Serving With Joy

  3. Pingback: The World We Will Inherit | Serving With Joy

Leave a reply...

